skip to Main Content




The Breast Cancer Research Foundation of Alabama

In December of 1995, the O’Neal Comprehensive Cancer Center at UAB introduced two people who had a shared experience with breast cancer. Dolly O’Neal, an 18-month breast cancer survivor, was one of those people. The other was Bruce Sokol, whose wife D. D. was undergoing breast cancer treatment at the time. Both shared a fervent desire to do something to fight this disease.

The following year, they founded the Breast Cancer Research Foundation of Alabama.

Today, we continue to uphold their work as we partner with Alabamians across the state to fundraise for research. Through individual donations, corporate partnerships and specialty events, we have contributed almost $11 million to fund research for a cure since our organization began.

As we support breast cancer patients and survivors across the state, we work to always operate with our mission in mind.


Our Mission

“To help find a cure for breast cancer by funding promising Breast Cancer Research in Alabama and to raise community awareness and funding for that research.”


1 in 8 women are diagnosed in their lifetimes

1 in 1,000 men are diagnosed in their lifetimes

Almost $11 million raised for research by the BCRFA 

93% of BCRFA funds support our mission


1 in 8 women are diagnosed in their lifetimes

1 in 1,000 men are diagnosed in their lifetimes

Almost $11 million raised for research by the BCRFA 

93% of BCRFA funds support our mission


What Are Our Goals? 

Receive sought-after and sustaining grant dollars
Recruit and retain world-class breast cancer researchers
Seize every opportunity for groundbreaking discovery

O'Neal Comprehensive Cancer Center

This funding we provide to our partners allows researchers to successfully compete and receive sought-after and sustaining grant dollars, recruit and retain world-class breast cancer researchers, and seize every opportunity for groundbreaking discovery.

The O’Neal Comprehensive Cancer Center at UAB is one of the leading national academic medical centers that make up the Translational Breast Cancer Research Consortium, which is 100% philanthropy-funded. The effective stewardship of our donations to this organization & their partners creates a multiplier effect, using the BCRFA donations as “seed money” to attract grant funding – turning every one dollar donated into 16 dollars!

More than 90% of funds received by the BCRFA support our mission of raising awareness and funding for breast cancer research in Alabama. For further information on how the BCRFA stewards the resources received from our supporters, please review copies of our latest Financial Audit and Form 990.


Our team is passionate about raising funds and awareness to find solutions for breast cancer treatment.


Beth Bradner Davis
Executive Director

Wright Wiggins Rouse
Marketing & Communications Director

Ashley Thomas
Administrative Assistant

2021 Board Officers

Laura Hinton
BCRFA President

Philip Passafiume
BCRFA Vice President

Brian Grainger
BCRFA Treasurer

Mauricio Papapietro
BCRFA Secretary

2021 Board of Directors

Maudie Darby Bedford

Sandra Little Brown

Gloria Buie

Meredith Woods Carpenter

Vivian Weaver Davis

Diane Dudney

James L. Dye

Gary Johnson

Kate Kiefer

Carol Sue Mitchell

Dianne Mooney

Cathleen Moore

Carol Myers

Wendy Paschal

Ryan Ramage

Dr. Caroline Reich

Greg Schumann

George Shaw

Renee Steed

Jean C. Thompson

Medical Advisory Council

Ravi Bhatia, MD, PhD

Andres Forero, MD

Edward Partridge, MD

Barry Sleckman, MD, PhD


Dolly A. O’Neal

Bruce H. Sokol

2021 Advisory Committee

Charles Baker

Anne-Michelle Barnett

Kim Comer

Kate Darden

Susie Denson

Cherri Ellis

Cathy Friedman 

Rosalind Griffin

Shane Hill

Melinda Mathews

Joyce Crawford Mitchell

Stephanie Mullen

Betsy Printz

Tom Robertshaw

Mary Screws

Marion Walker

Mary Weldon

Shaela Wise

Kay Zarzour




I am text block. Click edit button to change this text. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

Back To Top